A Comprehensive Guide on How to Get ISO 45001 Certified

Becoming ISO 45001 certified is a significant achievement for organisations that are committed to ensuring the health and safety of their employees. This internationally recognised standard sets a framework for occupational health and safety management systems. In this guide, we will explore the process of obtaining ISO 45001 certification, including the associated costs, timeframes, eligibility criteria, and mandatory requirements.

How much does it cost to become ISO 45001 certified?

The costs for obtaining ISO 45001 certification vary depending on several factors, including the size and complexity of your organization and the level of existing health and safety systems.  Certification bodies use this information to calculate the cost of the required stage 1 and stage 2 audits, and the annual surveillance audits.

The cost of assistance from external consultants, like Assent Risk Management, should also be considered because their expert support can streamline the process and help you avoid costly mistakes.

To get an accurate estimate, it is recommended to reach out to ISO 45001 consultants, who can provide you with a tailored quote based on your specific circumstances.

How long does it take to get ISO 45001 certified?

Similarly, the timeline for ISO 45001 certification depends on various factors such as the size of your organization, the number of sites in scope, the complexity of your business processes and the level of commitment from your team. 

UKAS accredited certification bodies mandate a minimum of 3-months system operation in order to generate the evidence required for audit.

The implementation process involves activities such as conducting a gap analysis, developing and implementing required systems and processes, conducting internal audits, and finally, undergoing an external audit by a certification body.

Who can apply for ISO 45001?

ISO 45001 is applicable to organisations of all types and sizes. Any organisation, regardless of its industry, can apply for ISO 45001 certification to enhance its health and safety performance and demonstrate a commitment to the well-being of its employees. 

Whether you are a small business, a multinational corporation, or a public institution, ISO 45001 can be implemented to improve occupational health and safety management.

What are the mandatory requirements for ISO 45001?

ISO 45001 includes several mandatory requirements that organisations must meet to achieve certification. These requirements are designed to establish a systematic approach to occupational health and safety management. 

Key elements of ISO 45001 include: identifying and assessing risks, defining health and safety objectives, implementing controls and measures to mitigate risks, ensuring legal compliance, promoting employee participation, and conducting regular management reviews. It is essential to familiarise yourself with these requirements and align your organisation’s practices accordingly.

Becoming ISO 45001 certified demonstrates your organisation’s commitment to providing a safe and healthy work environment. While the certification process involves costs and time, the benefits are significant, including improved employee well-being, reduced accidents and incidents, enhanced reputation, and better compliance with legal requirements. 

By understanding the costs, timeframes, eligibility criteria, and mandatory requirements discussed in this guide, you are on your way to achieving ISO 45001 certification and creating a safer workplace for your employees.

Robert Clements
Robert Clements
Articles: 292